In the beginning… now what?

Posted: March 21, 2009 in Growth, Hobbies, Life
Tags: , ,

I wonder how many blogs, exercise regiments, diets and get-organized plans begin in January from year to year? Ah, well. I try to follow the path less travelled, but sometimes I have to just bite the bullet and do something that could be interpreted as “typical”, even if the motivation behind it was not. So here’s a blog. At least now I have someplace to put my thoughts, reviews, rants and insights. I am writing to an audience of one – me. If anyone else should happen across my words, I hope they read them knowing that this is a private conversation taking place in a public forum, not unlike an overheard discussion at a nearby table in a restaurant or coffeehouse.

The effort I spend on my varied interests tends to wax and wane – I’ll be passionately, seriously focused for time, then gradually back off and another gets my attention for awhile. Then months or years later I pour myself into it again. The older I get, the more desperate I get to find more free time, so I can spend all day all week all over all of my hobbies, interests and passions. I think most people imagine that’s what retirement will be like.

It would be nice, if true.

Friday January 18, 2008 – 10:12am (EST)

Leave a Reply

